retirelazyandhappy

There are lots of things to think about.

The Big R (retirement): Getting started

Leave a comment

Well I have been retired for one month, and what are my impressions? First of all I notice no sense of pressure or fatigue. I think the lack of tiredness was the biggest change. I noticed first on a Friday night, when I realized while I was going home that I wasn’t exhausted. Before retirement, I experienced that fatigue a lot.

Another thing that I noticed that was a surprise, was that I was in bed later than I expected to be. I always thought of myself as a morning person, morning meaning that I would be up at 7:00. However, I found myself sleeping and dozing until 7:30 and 8 or even 8:30. At first I went to bed early: 9 or 9:30, but I found that I woke up for a few hours in the middle of the night, and still stayed in bed late in the morning. Now I am going to bed later, but I need to find a way to make the evenings more productive. I am curious to see how this will change as the light changes. This will become noticeable in a few more weeks.

I find that it is easier to keep the house clean, something that I have always avoided, but I think the difference is that if I take time to clean something up now it doesn’t feel like I will have little time to do something else, more attractive. That goes back to the availability of time.

Bigger cleaning tasks still have to be done, and probably one thing to do is to schedule one day or two days a week to accomplish one closet or cupboard. We will see what works out.

I find that it is important to get out of the house every day, there have been very few days when the weather was bad enough to make it smarter to stay in the house. This can be as simple as running an errand or more elaborate, going out with friends to dinner and or a concert, going to a museum. My friends of course are mostly working, so I have to plan some time to spend on entertainment myself and I have made up a list.

There are lots of things to do at home to keep me busy: I need to do some exercise, so doing some routines at home is important, also I am studying Rosetta Stone Spanish and I like to plan an hour a day doing that. I received a new computer, a MaxPro from Matt, my son, and his wife Jill so I have been getting used to that. I finally realized that I needed to watch Apple’s instructional videos, and since I started to spend time on that I have enjoyed using the computer even more. A lot of time was spent on importing my music, and now I am listening to that a lot. Of course I am still reading a lot, and one frustration is that by the end of the day (the time that I want to make more productive) my eyes are tired. Oh well something else to figure out.

I have to admit that I like to have disposable money so I have looked into some Internet research programs, and I started to learn one of them. I also looked into a writing program, so that will be my next step. Lots to learn. I want to travel and I belong to International Living, so I want to study the options from that group. There are lots of travel opportunities, and I want to be able to take advantage of actually living in a country for a few months at a time, rather than just being a brief tourist.

People told me that I would be so busy that I would not know how I ever found time to work. They were so right! To tell the truth, I knew beforehand that I didn’t have time to work, and now I am proving it. One of the nicest things is to think about what I want to do today, or this week, or when and how. The time feels wonderful.

I will continue these impressions a few times a week. It will be a good way to keep things in perspective.

Author: retirelazyandhappy

I am recently retired from the practice of psychology. I live in Minnesota, in a small city in the south metro area. I have one grown son and a daughter in law. My interests include reading both fiction and nonfiction, studying languages, right now Spanish, I have a desire to travel to Europe and South America in particular. My interests include politics, alternative health and nutrition. I have found that I enjoy writing.

Leave a Reply

