retirelazyandhappy

There are lots of things to think about.

Easy, lazy retirement: second three months.

Leave a comment

I want to talk today about the second quarter of retirement, and how that went.  It was a continuation of the first three months, obviously, and things went into effect pretty smoothly.  By that I mean arranging for a regular income (in my case from dividends) to supplement my social security and tiny pension.

The other important task was establishing my medicare backup insurance, and that went smoothly.  One mistake I made was not being careful enough about dental insurance: I thought is had bought a full insurance product and it turned out that I only have coverage for preventive care.  Lesson learned (as you will see later).

The positives:  The free time can be and was used to explore different experiences and fields that I am interested in.  I have a wide ranging reading program, I continued to study Spanish, and I could explore museums, plays and concerts without feeling tired (if they were at night) or dealing with crowds.  The exploration without pressure is wonderful.  I just have to keep reminding myself  that there is no rush.  There is time to explore lots of different interests and I don’t have to get committed for any long term process.

I explored copywriting, (this is writing for advertising), and now I am exploring the use of a web site to present information to the world and to eventually make money from that.  This is an exploration that has just started. I will let you know when I have something up and something to share.

Negatives:  There have been some unpleasant surprises, some expected expenses.  My car needed to have its catalytic converter replaced one month, and I needed a root canal the next month.  The first was expected, the second led to the realization that my dental insurance was inadequate.  Well, lesson learned.  That will be corrected next year.

There were other things that I hadn’t thought about.  Most of my friends are still working, and are only available for fun on weekends.  Also, most activities are at night.  This makes sense, it just changes your thoughts about all of those programs and meetings that you thought would fill up your day.

Author: retirelazyandhappy

I am recently retired from the practice of psychology. I live in Minnesota, in a small city in the south metro area. I have one grown son and a daughter in law. My interests include reading both fiction and nonfiction, studying languages, right now Spanish, I have a desire to travel to Europe and South America in particular. My interests include politics, alternative health and nutrition. I have found that I enjoy writing.

Leave a Reply

