retirelazyandhappy

There are lots of things to think about.

Good reads: airline travel, and mystery.

Leave a comment

Right now I am reading a book about airline service and safety (or lack of service and safety).  It is called Attention All Passengers,by William J McGee.  Once I finish it I will discuss my thoughts about it.  For now, I will just say that I recommend it, but it is sad to explore the deterioration of what was once such an enjoyable and exciting experience.  Full  disclosure:  my son is a pilot, so problems in the industry hit home.

Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am also reading a fun book, an early novel by Agatha Christie.  I read many of her books long ago when I was much younger.  Then I believe I missed what is evident now:  Her writing is very funny.  she has a delightful way of mocking upper classes, foreigners, self important people.  There is a lot of prejudice which was characteristic of her time and sad to see today.  However, we all come in for some ribbing, so that helps to keep things in perspective.  Was there once a time when villains were all brutish looking with fat, squat noses?  Well check out Agatha, she will let you know.

I am also reading the New Yorker magazine:  that keeps any reader very very busy, and well informed.  I highly recommend it to anyone who loves variety and who loves reading.

Author: retirelazyandhappy

I am recently retired from the practice of psychology. I live in Minnesota, in a small city in the south metro area. I have one grown son and a daughter in law. My interests include reading both fiction and nonfiction, studying languages, right now Spanish, I have a desire to travel to Europe and South America in particular. My interests include politics, alternative health and nutrition. I have found that I enjoy writing.

Leave a Reply

