retirelazyandhappy

There are lots of things to think about.

Political reflections

Leave a comment

Welcome back.  I want to say a few things about the many political controversies that are on the news lately.

I will start with the IRS.  I have to wonder, since the IRS was evaluating whether organizations which were applying for favored tax treatment on the basis of the fact that they are social service organizations rather than political organizations, why they wold be surprised at getting extra scrutiny when the words Tea Party are in their name?  My impression of Tea Party groups is that they are political.  I think most people working for the IRS might think the same thing.  So when the job is to identify quickly those organizations which qualify for a favored tax status I am not surprised that a political sounding organization would get more attention, in the service of efficiency?  What do you think?

Second, the Associated press emails.  Evidently the leak was a serious one, that endangered the life of an undercover agent.  There were eight months of searching for the source of the leak using more conventional means.  Only 2 months worth of emails were taken, and those were the 2 months around the time of the leak.  This may be a bad thing to do, and I do believe in first amendment rights, but it was a not an uncontrolled hunt through private emails to find anything at all.

Next, food stamps.  Saving money by restricting the access to food is not just cruel, it is out and out bizarre!

On top of that is has just come out (!!Really???) that some corporations such as Apple make billions of dollars in profits, but can stash them in safe havens

Image representing Apple as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

and don’t pay taxes on them.  Especially when one party especially although both ore guilty of this to some extent) is trying to cut expenses by cutting food stamps, I have to wonder what kind of country do we want?  I think we can do better.

Author: retirelazyandhappy

I am recently retired from the practice of psychology. I live in Minnesota, in a small city in the south metro area. I have one grown son and a daughter in law. My interests include reading both fiction and nonfiction, studying languages, right now Spanish, I have a desire to travel to Europe and South America in particular. My interests include politics, alternative health and nutrition. I have found that I enjoy writing.

Leave a Reply

