retirelazyandhappy

There are lots of things to think about.

Trump Wants to Abolish the Johnson Amendment

Leave a comment

The news today is that Trump attended the prayer breakfast this morning.  He, of course, praised his performance on the TV show “The Apprentice” and bragged about his ratings.  I don’t know how any of the participants were able to choke down their breakfast after Trump asked them to “pray” for Arnold so that his ratings, much lower than Trumps, will go up!

Then he “promised” that he would repeal the Johnson Amendment which prevents Churches from actively endorsing and working for a political candidate.

Does Trump know that he doesn’t have the power to repeal the rule?  (I know, the Republicans will probably come to heel, and do what he wants them to do.)

I wonder if it has occurred to Trump that when Churches can support specific candidates so can the Synagogues and the Mosques.  That might be interesting.

What kind of a country have we become?

Please use the comment section to share your thoughts.

 

Author: retirelazyandhappy

I am recently retired from the practice of psychology. I live in Minnesota, in a small city in the south metro area. I have one grown son and a daughter in law. My interests include reading both fiction and nonfiction, studying languages, right now Spanish, I have a desire to travel to Europe and South America in particular. My interests include politics, alternative health and nutrition. I have found that I enjoy writing.

Leave a Reply

